Let's Talk Books!

I will try to keep this page updated with good resources for reading material.                     Students should be reading at home regularly, at least 30 minutes a day!! 
                                                                If you are looking for a new book, here are some websites that could help:

50-books-all-kids-should-read-before-theyre-12                                                                   www.yournextread.com

what-to-read-next-great-reads-for-september-2015                                                             10 new books you will be obsessed with

Books to read before they are movies                                                                                 the-best-young-adult-books-of-2016-so-far

JUST FOR FUN!! CHECK OUT THIS LINK TO #VERYREALISTICYA -
 WORTH READING AND VERY FUNNY - #VeryRealisticYAfiction                                     http://www.amightygirl.com/books

http://whatshouldireadnext.com                                                                                            http://www.openingthebook.com/whichbook/

Best Book Series - ages 10-12                                                                                             Best Book Series - ages 13+

150 essential books for teens from Common Sense Media                                                 Amazon's current list of Best Books for Kids & Teens

Nancie Atwell's Book List                                                                                                     7 Habits Book List
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BOOK OF THE MONTH RECOMMENDATION:

Shadow and Bone series by Leigh Bardugo - really cool fantasy about people called Grisha with special powers, a world controlled by a character called The Darkling, adventure, romance, and all the elements that make popular YA reading.

My latest read, An Ember in the Ashes - really good! A Scholar serving as a slave to rescue her brother and a Martial raised as a Tribesman but trained to be the next Emperor meet in a world that is on the brink of war involving supernatural beings and power hungry humans. Lots of intrigue, romance, and suspense.


The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland - About kids at a camp who face many issues, such as eating disorders, cutting, depression, and many others. Really sad but likable characters.

Replica - The latest release from Lauren Oliver, who also wrote the Delirium series, and Before I Fall. This is a book you can read three different ways and is told from two different perspectives, Lyra and Gemma. It's science fiction and romance, and if you like stories with surprises, this one's for you. 

Red Rising - For fans of Hunger Games and Ender's Game, try this new one - book 1 of a trilogy:


We Were Liars - One of my new FAVORITES! A must - read. 


Kiss of Deception - I finished 6 books over vacation and here are two that you should get your hands on:
Glass Sentence:


The Book Thief - I just finished listening to this in my car, and although at first I didn't like this story at all, I stuck with it and felt rewarded when it was all done. Very sad, as all books about WWII are, but likable characters that readers end up caring for a great deal, and a perspective that makes readers think more deeply about everyday German people's lives under Hitler's regime.


Divergent - Of course movies are a great inspiration for reading material, so the current buzz book is Divergent by Veronica Roth, which is another dystopian teen novel with great vocabulary like Abnegation, Dauntless, Erudite, Candor, and Amity.

The next amazing fantasy series most highly recommended:
Cinda Williams Chima's SEVEN REALMS series. I've read the first two and I cannot wait to get to #3 and #4. Here are the covers:


I am a big fan of JOHN GREEN for older teen young adult fiction. Moving, fully flawed and likable characters, and heart-wrenching storylines. I've read The Fault in Our Stars and Paper Towns.


Next stop - Rick Riordan - always a great choice, full of action and adventure. This is his latest - The House of Hades:
The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4)

The Bone Season - I read somewhere that she is the next J.K. Rowling. It was really good and I am looking forward to the next installments.


Magyk - My daughter loves this series, so I am recommending it on her behalf:

Wonder - This is our reading block read-aloud from 2014 and if you haven't read it, I highly recommend it!



SCHOLASTIC BOOK ORDERS - TAB AND TEEN
If you like to own books, this is a very inexpensive way to buy them (sometimes cheaper than Amazon!) and your purchases help me get more books for the classroom. Here is the information you need to do this ordering online:

Shop Online: scholastic.com/readingclub

One­Time Class Activation Code: NH88F
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~